Encompass Journey Of Understanding 2013- The complete story of the Event! (part 2)

Standard

We went from Indonesia to London at 16 march 2013, you can read the preparation story here. While you can read my short post and photos when we transit at Doha here, and a story when I arrived at London after a week in wales here. Both are in Bahasa Indonesia

This is the published post in Antaranews , Thank you to Mr, T.A. Fauzi for the opportunity! You can read it HERE

All the picture here belongs to the participants, Kristos, Fred, Me, The Encompass Trust’s and someof the other participant I can not remember.

We arrived in Doha 2 am and that was a half of the journey, waiting for the next 8 hours flight to meet you guys, our brothers and sister from all over the world. We were so exciting and curious. We arrived in Heathrow early in the morning, that we should spent the rest of the days waiting the other participants.

I remember, the first participant I met was Rawan!! Rory said, she is from Palestine. Then, after Rawan came and sit, we asked her to look after our luggage because we wanted to go outside for a while, 4 of us. Why it is so clear in my mind.wpid-20130317_211412 We waited for the others and I met Abood, Hadeel and Noor as well. We sang outside the building and they brought the Tabla as well. That was very cold outside, our very cold degree for our lifetime (for some of us) 😉

After then I met Ethan, then I saw Anthony but I was not so sure if he was one of the participant, so I didn’t say Hi directly. Then I met Aaron and Fred from Israel. They were so exciting, especially Fred, with his infamous word “Yes Okay Yes!”. I recognized the honeyed eye Bar, and we had our discussion along with Nat, Fred, Bar and Aaron. After that we were introduced to Kristos, from US and Erica. They said we should wait for another 2 participants from US.

I noticed Noraiz and Usman but I was not so sure (again) they were one of the participant. When I said Pakistan, Usman said “I am from Kashmere” , I was a little bit scared haha, but then when I know he is a keeper with a tender heart, wow how lovely he is!. Then after a while, we were going to the coach bus and travelling to Snowdonia. While in the coach I heard that in the back it was so noisy and they talked interesting topics, what are they talking about? I noticed Alex! and I began to noticed the Dr.Dre Anthony. Again with Tabla, the Participant from Palestine sang beautifully, while Fred and his special Coca Cola was talking about the Pesakh, or Pass Over. I was interested because they has similarities with my former religion, Adventist Church. On the way, I was stunned by the snow all over the road. It was my very first snow ever. Then we arrived at the market to buy our dinner. It was exciting to meet other Indonesians in that market, as workers and as tourists. They said goodluck for our journeys.

We arrived at Snowdonia quite late, very cold and dark. I was curious what will happen in the next day. My name called in the first room of the girls, along with Haleema, Natalie, Michelle, Rayna and Hadeel, yes I remember what had happened that night and I said to Hadeel, she will be okay in the room with me =). That night I didn’t sleep because of the excitement. I went to the game room, there were Dr Dre Anthony, Noraiz, and Usman. I was talking to Usman a while and I find out that he was the youngest among the participants. Hey, I remember the details guys!!!

The First day

I woke up quite early, feeling so much cold, take my long john (that I just knew it is very helpful, I never use one back home in Indonesia due to the tropical climate) ready for the first breakfast. It was still an hour before the first class.

I walked around the dorm and enjoyed the view. Wow!. I saw the hills covered in snow. I have to get used to a new culture. When I was in my breakfast time, I thought, I used to eat rice 3 times daily, but today I have to learn new thing. English Breakfast? yeah, with potato, beans, scramble egg and bacon, but I didnt take the bacon because I ate halal, sometimes ( I was a christian, it makes me can eat nonhalal food. but because I was THE adventist christian which can not eat pork, shrimp, (just like the kosher jews) in Indonesia we eat vegetarian food and halal food) yeah, that was kinda complicated. Especially when Janis asked, Are You Halal? (she means will I take the pork or not- but actually I am not halal to be eaten.) Yes I was Halal. =D

I can not fully remember with whom I sat that day but Lissa already brought our savior, CHILLI SAUCE! and I remember since that day, Bar asked for more chilli sauce! The first workshop was to know our name, by throwing an apple – or an orange. I remember I received it from Fred and I gave it to Ethan. Then the blanket games, I can not spell Rawan name and it made me lose the score for the team.

After that we were preparing for the outdoor teams, my name was called (again) into the first team, with Debs. Here we are, Fred, Rayna, Hadeel, ME!, Anthony, Erica, Abood and Usman. I was very excited. What will we do? Canoeing? Warterfall swimming? walk in the snow? or what? Debs introduce herself to us and said we are going to nearby waterfall! Yes the Gorge Walking! Rory joined us and a dog named (forgot) please someone in the team remind me about Deb’s dog name!

I went upstairs and prepared my cloths, Debs said it will not really wet because we use our waterproofs and wellies. But well, it was water, after all. I was using my longjohn, again, to repel the cold. The next night was very cold. Then we were walking to the waterfall, a 20 minutes walk. I wonder why the other team went by car, instead of walking. Debs said we got the most difficult one. On the road I taught Fred and Abood a song from my country ‘disini senang-disana senang’ literary it means : In here I am happy, there I am happy, Everywhere I am happy.. Abood taught me a song and sang along with hadeel, but I can not speel the words correctly and I knew a song Hava Nagilah from Fred and we sang together.

By the river (I hope Debs has the photos and I can grab it) the first thing to do is climbing the slippery wet cold high and steep rocks. I told Usman I was afraid of height when I look down, and I would be shaking. It took more than the courage I have to finish the first climb.

It was cold,

It was scary,

It was tricky.

But I’ve done it! Then we walked along the river, Abood became the leader of the group. He took care of everyone in the team.

In the middle of the road, we could choose whether we wanted go on walking inside the waterfall and jump to the other side and climb again  or walking in the riverside. Erica and I chose the first one. Most of the boys chose the first one also, conquering the fears. One by one can go inside the waterfall, some slips but they were okay,

64377_10151540572345731_1988155058_n

My turn. I walked inside, It was sooo cold, and my fear held my feet to move on. It took 2-3 minutes inside the waterfall, I hesitated between going back or going forward. Then I held my breath and step in, and slipped! I thought I might be die or something. It was a deep one, but a strong hand grab me right in my arms. That was DEBS! She saved me, and she still can take photographs of me. You rock Debs!

165456_10151408946714858_1152663017_n-2

Then Abood, who was already some steps ahead of me came back and grab me to his place. My adrenalin rush was very high. We walked a long the road.. through the river, my cloth inside the waterproofs was very wet to the very inside and off course the long john. I’ve got my bruises as well, and when we walked down. I was soo happy I can defeat my own fear. After that we had our dinner (I regret that I did not take all the picture of the fantastic dinners) and our workshop was about what others see me.. Well, it makes me know more about myself. I stayed up late, Rawan and Abood taught me the dance that night =)

The Second day

I was little bit more prepared than before, the day will be started by an outdoor activity. What else could be more challenging than Gorge Walking? We went to the beach. Sea side climbing, enjoying the warm chocolate and our sandwich on the seashore with the sea gull and a smart dog. When we walked home, Erica and I met an elder couple and said ‘you are in heaven, dont tell anyone!’ I bet erica still remember this! even she cant spell the name right.

All along the way we had signals, Abood was very happy receiving a call from a friend and Usman, we knew he was on his phone as long as he could . The workshop was about my community, we shared things from our community back home and have conclusion about what is the problem in our society and how we could solve it. Ethan picked a problem, it was bullying, and we started to define the root, and how to solve it by drawing a tree.

The night workshop was my favorite one, crossing the line. We had great argument about that and I learned how to stand for what I believe and learn how to communicate it well. In that night I stayed up late again.

579639_10151567835500731_1127783621_n   The third day and the rest..

The next days were very interesting, when we went to the lake for canoeing, Debs brought us to a parking lot with snow on it.

I was soooo excited and so did Abood, Debs promised she will take us to the snowy place on the other day.

I was with Erica canoeing, and we have to adjust the thoughts of ours quite a bit when the wind blown very strong. Going back to meet debs or just move on. Fred and Usman was on the same boat, fell over twice and Fred swam twice! Then Anthony and Abood had their chance to do the canoieng alone.

I was so excited when Rory said it will be snow in the weekend. I cant wait.. The next day, Debs brought us to the mountain near the highest mountain of Wales and England, The Snowdon. We were hiking over the mountain and it was a long distance walk. I dont know what was happened but what I remember that I was already in the car, Abood tried to wake me up and Saf tried to give me hot chocolate a lot. Maybe my blood preasure went down, nearly had hypotermia. That was a terrible walk for me.524167_10151556563740731_2130596488_n

It was great to know that three last days we got snow in the dorm.

I went to the outdoor day. It was very great, we went mining, I forgot our mentor’s name. I was with Risky, Lissa was alone and Bagas went mount-biking. We all got snow! I remember when the instructor told us that the men should taking care of the women. Every man hold a woman’s hand. I was the slowest of the Group but thanks to Risky, for waiting for me along with Bar and Fred! I remember when Rawan asked who was Bar’s Encompass girlfriend, He said FRED! because we were together all along the way. We sang a long, slipped, and sang along and slipped, Hava nagilaah!!555794_10200216451788800_1670441822_n-1   560182_10200216513670347_711532870_n

537404_10200216452508818_2024214481_n

535850_10151407013974858_1885484389_n

My team of mining: Kev (the leader), Anthony, Fred, Bar, Risky, Rayna, Noor, Erica, Rayna And I

523451_10151359901201088_858750774_n

The cultural night was so interesting, The dance, the information, the cookies.. It was very cold and it makes Bagas and Risky can not open their top shirt, Risky was not in the good condition, and he got massage from Bagas. We were thinking who will be our victim, then the lucky guy was FRED! =D164994_10151567831590731_921589990_n

524196_10151409061839858_343982867_n

73131_10200216511670297_893625939_n

After the cultural night Bagas taught me some dance and Ethan taught him the martial art, Muay Thai. I enjoyed the snow so much even late in the night. The next morning I had my first snow fight with Haleema, and we made a snow midgets. It was so short.

100_3738

100_375512372_10200216575951904_1481838105_n

The workshops went well, and makes me think a lot about the question in Q and A sections, especially about religion.

47793_10200216512310313_385737569_n

Why I do think like that. What is my opinion toward it, It is still on my mind.

From the workshop I learnt how to communicate well, how to deliver what’s on my mind, how to stand where I want to without being influenced by others, or sometimes.

I learned that I have to be more open-minded. My tiny little box which is warm and comfortable is not suitable for me anymore. There are a lot to discuss and to be done in the society, there are the unseen crime or the kindness in disguise.

I learn to appreciate people as human being beyond the religion, nationality, political view and race, and I believe some of use do learn that also.

I learn that even though the life is not that easy, grim everywhere, sadness everywhere, but like the Pandora’s Jar, there will always be hope in the bottom of the Jar

I remember when I talked a lot with Usman about ‘feelings’ he told me such things that makes sense and after a while I know what he said was very true. Thanks for Fred and Aharon who invited us to celebrate the Sabbath together and teach us the rituals and how they pray, This was a precious knowledge!

7152_10200153350451306_977985219_n

479888_10200216405907653_1230470543_n

559677_10200216453708848_1332210015_n

I remember the Partying night (or nights, we party a lot in the games room), the disco and the slow dance -it was my very first slow dance with my favourite song So Close-by McLaughlin
156838_10200870750991904_1096683014_n

The serious talks,

the chilli sauce talks,

the religious talks,

the heart to heart talks (ups ;p )

Plas Gwynant is a very beautiful place.

I always miss the breakfast, the dinner, the hospitality of this place..

The’ Take over’ day was very inspiring. We learned how to be ‘Rory, Lucy and Saf’ to bring the discussion, the energizer, to be a good facilitator for each other.

The activity was closed in the last day by the friendship bracelet that I still use till now. I remember I braided some bracelet for us, Rayna and Alicia also.

kecil1

and finally the days of Plas Gywnant finished earlier than I thought.

We went home to London by bus and arrived at 2 am, freeeeezing night!!! In the hostel, I stayed up late until 6 am, and preparing for the closing ceremony.

It was very kind of Noraiz and Usman who were taking care of us until we  arrived at the embassy and met Mr Billy Wibisono and Tante Rita , we went walking the oxford street, and the Primark for the first time.

Then after a short shopping, Mas Hanif from the guest house of Indonesia Embassy brought to our home, Wisma Siswa Merdeka at Kilburn, with so much halal restaurant which saved our live in the next days.

We also meet the cute Ayut, Son of Mas Hanif, Whenever we were at home we love the cute laughing of Ayut.

563719_10201019621516708_946412971_n

The rest of the days we had soo much fun , so much Primark-shopping, so much cold and so much stories..

Trafalgar square at midnight, Primark, Primark, Primark (some of us love to shop a lot) and the last gathering of Encompass Trust , a story telling event and we did some games, prepared by Bar and Alicia, the participants from US and Israel, and mingled with the guests from the organization  which means that was the last time we met the other participants before we went home (we thought)… I cried that night, hugged everyone who was there. The memory of the previous week flashed in my mind when I hugged Rawan, my dear friend from Palestine. We were prepared to go home to Indonesia the next day.

20130328_100045

We went to the embassy, we did not have the breakfast or lunch and we arrived at the airport, the Indonesian Embassy helped us for the transportation. But then, another unexpected but surprised journey was waiting for us, our flight was delayed. At first, The airline told us the earliset fligh will be at 5th of april, A WEEK!..

well,

we sat down

and think.

20130328_140343

We called our mentor in Jakarta, Putri, the vice president of Encompass Indonesia and Adit, our mentor in Malang.. we had no money left to go back to London! =(. Either excited or sad, we tried to think what could we do, after a while, Lissa and I tried to talk to the airline and Thank Goodness! we got the earlier flight 2 days ahead…

Fortunately, the Embassy got us home to our dormitory at Kilburn. After that tiring day, we had a chill evening together, eating chinesse food nearby. Yes chinesse foods saved our live three times. Good food, good chili, affordable price and full stomach!

The next EXTRA day, we went to Buckingham Palace (Yes, we if we got home the day before, we will regret it so much because we have not visit the must-see places in London), Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, Meet Haleema, a participant from UK-Pakistani.. and Primark again… A nice day closed by our favorite noodle, INDOMIE.. yes.. we were glad.

20130329_224256

The last day in London we got the sun!

We were soooo glad.. now we appreciate sun much more than before..

20130325_174610 (2)

20130329_100840

We did not regret our delayed flight back home because of that we met The Education Atache of Indonesia Embassy, Mr T.A Fauzi who gave us an opportunity to write a Press Release in a National Online Newspaper AntaraNews. You can read it HERE

Finally, the Journey (in London) is over, but that was a begining of our real life journey when we got home, with stories to tell, knowledge and peace to spread, changes to be done, and another stories to began..

Thank You for everyone,

Encompass Trust UK (Eric Appleby, Alex Braden),

Encompass Indonesia,YEPE (Bpk Data, Silka), for the chances

Bpk. Heroe Soeprapto(RIP), Putri Soeprapto, Ibu Bina Yuanita, for the hospotality, the supports, They were there when we depart and arrive.

179086_10151471026524172_2076829102_n

Bpk Bambang Sarasno for the knowledge and the preparation before the journey.

My dear aunties, uncles, brother and sister to prepare my journey in Jakarta, Tante Edna, Tante Jeane, Tante Nita, Kak Icha, Kak Adi, Om Budi for the knowledge and the place to stay and practice.

426568_10151471026414172_1165389048_n

Our dear friends from Malang , Adit who was the person behind this successful teamwork, designing the banner, designing the uniform, thinking about us everyday in the week, we owe him sooo much, Lila for the reminders, Mas Doni, Mas Manap, Mas Suli, for the knowledge about Indonesia and Life, the journey we had in Malang,

Encompass Indonesia and YEPE Fellows, Mas Irul, Ary, Lutfi, Herwin, Mbak Isna and everyone that we can not mentioned ( It is like an award winning..well)

The artists behind, Ledome Percussion: Timotius Lalompoh, Dono Dawud, Bias Adinata, Angga (the Kuro), Navis, and the costume maker, Muklis Ahmad

Mas Hanif and Mas Yudi, From Wisma Siswa Merdeka who were so Inspiring! Indonesia Embassy in London for the foods, hospitality, the transportation and the smiles!

Consina Outdoor Gear for the sponsorship for the duffles, backpacks, sandals, raincoat jackets, the very helpful sarung tangan, and the rest of our stuffs

12494_10200870724471241_1612444285_n

Akar Air , Indonesia Culture Shirt for the T Shirts and Bag,

Debu Nusantara, for the discussions

For my lovely friends- The participants!

UK team: Ethan Sayce (The Muay Thai),Michelle (My Roomate!), Nicole (The fast talker! ;p ), Anthony (The mountain guy!), Alex (Yeah I miss your craziness Alex!)Usman (The keeper and sweet one), Noraizz ( such a funny and lovely young brother), Halleema (For every discussion we had!),

The US team : Erica (we have to discuss more!!!), Rayna ( My dear roomate who advised me what to wear in that cold weather!), Alicia (I love the dance you taught us!), Kristos (day by day I know that you are such a funny person, I had a video with your ‘dance’ there, I laugh and laugh and laugh!),

The Palestinians : Rawan ( I miss you sister!! ) Noor ( we had or mining memory in the dark, haha!), Hadeel ( I wanna Hug you!), and Abood ( Always bring your smile wherever you go, man!)

The Israelis : Bar (your honeyed eye with the ray of the sun! ) Pink Fred (The crunchy of the event!), Aharon (for the sweet smile and the discussions) and Natalie, my roomate!

The Fasilitator, Rori Donaghy , Saf, and Lucy for the great event,

543096_10151348148507536_1315016172_n

The Plas Gwynant staff.. I miss the foods, the hospitality,the adventure there.. so much.. =’)

And for chilli sauce,salt and pepper, who helped our stomach so much,

and for the shoes that accompanied us a long the way,

and for my dear awesome crazy and surprising  Travelmates, Bagas, Risky and Lissa… I am looking for another chance to travel with you all!!!

598979_10151471027164172_549818168_n

IMG_0568 copy

-this is not the end-

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Encompass Journey of Understanding 2013- The Complete Story of Preparation (Part 1) | Sweta Rohita

  2. Pingback: Sugeng Warsa Enggal | Sweta Rohita

Leave a comment